Rasputin’s Supernatural Dating Service

cover-3-677x1024Author: David D. Hammons
Genre: Fiction
stars
“Monsters, ghosts, dead, undead, and Frankensteins still unsure if they’re depressed because they’re abominations against existence or if it’s just been forever since they’ve been laid, all can find love with Rasputin’s Supernatural Dating Service!
Eli Kowalski has seen his share of freaks as a Certifier for Rasputin’s Supernatural Dating Service. It’s his job to weed out the real monsters from the weirdos with too much black lipstick. While on a routine certification, he comes across the Tablet of Nicaea. A powerful witch and self-proclaimed “Men’s Rights Activist” wants to steal the tablet and use it to kill all supernatural creatures so that “nice guys” like him can have a better chance with women. Eli must unite with the supernatural policing agency, the witch’s ex-girlfriend, and the constantly-naked Rasputin to save supernatural creatures in the name of love. He’ll probably excuse himself from Rasputin’s victory orgy, though.”

I’d like to give a big thanks to NetGalley for this ebook freebie, first of all. Second, of all, I’d like to give a big thanks to Mr. Hammons for writing this book! Every once in a while I like to read a book for fun. Not to broaden my mind or motivate me to change the world, but a book that lets me have a nice long chuckle in public so I get to look good and crazy.

My favorite part of this book was the strange, but hilarious world that was built around supernaturals to hide them from humans. It made a whole lot of sense, yet none at all at the same time. I enjoyed Eli’s dry humor and the constant flow of small running jokes that drove the book forward. It was the kind of comedy that didn’t need to hit you over the head, you just got it. Yay for good writing! All the players in the book were great to read about. When we get introduced to a new ghoul or whatzit, there were fun facts about how they lived, what the ate, and how they integrated themselves into human society. It felt like I was learning, but not really.

It was also a well-paced book. There were no parts where I was wishing it would speed up or slow down. It had enough romance, action, humor, and plot to make a great book. When I finished, I didn’t feel like I had wasted my time, which is a spectacular feeling. Throughout my reading, it wasn’t hard to imagine 20th Century Fox or Warner Brothers putting this up on the big screen and seeing a great success!

(Would they stay true to the obviously non-white main character? I would hope so!)

The only reason I gave this book 4/5 stars is that I wish that I learned a bit more about Eli. I connected with him just fine throughout the book but I wish I got to know him better. But all in all, this was a great book and I would recommend it to anyone who loves a nice comedy.

March is quickly approaching but I’m still in between choices for the book I’m going to read for ONTD’s book challenge. March’s theme is a book recommended by a celebrity. I might read a Girl Like I by Anita Loos (rec’d by Gillian Jacobs) or A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Trembly (rec’d by Stephen King). Maybe I’ll read both, who knows!

Leave a Reply

