To Selena, With Love

13552159Author: Chris Perez
Genre: Non-fiction
5-stars
10 years after the tragic murder of Mexican-American superstar Selena Quintanilla Perez, her widower and former guitar player, Chris Perez writes her one last love note.

I’m not afraid to admit it, I’m kind of a sap. I do love a movie or book that gives me a fulfilling catharsis. And by catharsis, I mean a good, hard cry. This memoir made me cry, not only because it was written in such a way that you could really understand the love Chris had for Selena, but because I am a huge Selena fan.

I was born a few months after her murder and didn’t unlock my love for her (and Tejano music in general) until I was in my late teens. The way her family has uplifted and protected her legacy and the way fans and friends remember he so fondly, you can’t help but mourn for something that you never had the chance to experience.

But, back to the book! Some people didn’t enjoy the writing of the book but I thought it was a good match for the type of book it was. It was memoir so it didn’t have to be a literary masterpiece to get it’s point across. It was informal and easy to read. I enjoyed it.

The love story really is the best part of the book. The Selena movie that came out in 1996 is a dramatization of her life and marriage, but honestly, their relationship would do well on screen without any extras. He became her guitarist and fell in love with her. Her father disapproved and Selena was so dedicated to him that she had been willing to leave the band so they could be together. Chris knew better and he left, they dated and then married in secret. They were happy until she was taken away from him.

I think my favorite part of the book was realizing Selena was a genuinely good person. But she was also just a person. As weird as it sounds, it was also nice to “grieve” with Chris. When he wrote about the funeral and how he survived after she was gone, it was painful. It was heartbreaking. However, the greatest triumph of the book was knowing that Chris was able to move on with his life, by not forgetting Selena, but living to make her proud. I would read this book over and over again. I love it.

I’m still trucking through my March read for the ONTD reading challenge, A Head Full of Ghosts. I’m enjoying the story and looking forward to getting deeper into it. If you want to check all my books and current reads, let’s be friends on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

