In a Dark, Dark Wood

91qqqjc2y2blAuthor: Ruth Ware
Genre: Thriller
stars
Nora hasn’t seen Clare for ten years. Not since Nora walked out of school one day and never went back. Until, out of the blue, an invitation to Clare’s hen-do arrives. Is this a chance for Nora to finally put her past behind her? But something goes wrong. Very wrong. Some things can’t stay secret forever.

Like advertising, you always notice the bad ads and the greats ads because the majority of them are just okay. Books, to me, are the same way. I can yell for hours about a book I gave five stars, or one star, but besides saying “yeah I read that,” books that I give two or three stars dissolve from my memory.

In a Dark, Dark, Wood is one of the books that I’ve forgotten. The most memorable thing about this book for me isn’t actually about the book. I picked it up and read it in about four or five hours straight because the servers were down at work and I needed something to do.

Parts of this book were good. The writing was okay, the suspense was readable, and the twist was meh. The one thing I couldn’t get over was how awful all of the characters were. The best book in the world can be ruined for me if the main character is terrible. And Nora was terrible. She ran around like limp noodle the entire book. The side characters and friends were rude and miserable too. There was not one character in this book that I was excited to read about or excited to learn they were a constant in the story.

I think sometimes authors can get carried away with a good story and resolve the characters into plot vehicles, not caring what they do as long as the story gets told. That’s not a great way to write a book. It makes interested readers into “skimmers.” They skim any dialogue or what little character development there is to get back to the story.

In a Dark, Dark Wood wasn’t the worst book I’ve ever read but I won’t lie and say it didn’t disappoint me. Pick it up if you want, but not on my recommendation.

Leave a Reply

