Did Not Finish (D.N.F)

DNF

I don’t find any shame in not finishing every book I pick up. I don’t start and stop books very often because I’m an easy going type of reader, but every once in a while I find a book that turns me off so much that I have no choice but to put it down. In July I started 5 books, but only finished 3.

‘Salem’s Lot by Stephen King
This book was too dry for me to finish. In fact, it was too dry for me to even get through the first 100 pages. Every 10 or 20 pages I had to put it down and force myself to read a bit more. Eventually, I put this one down for good. I love Stephen King, but ‘Salem’s Lot didn’t do it for me.

The Unfortunate Importance of Beauty by Amanda Filipacchi
This was a dumb book. It had a stupid, far-out plot and took itself way too seriously. Basically, this very beautiful woman dresses up in an ugly costume (fat suit, false teeth, fake wig) because she feels guilt after her good male friend killed himself due to his unrequited love for her.The main character was a complete Mary-Sue. She was literally perfect. Not only was she gorgeous, but she was an award winning costume designer who lived alone in a stunning apartment in the city. Her only flaw is that her beauty brings her pain. I’m pretty sure I’ve read fanfiction in the same vein as this book.

Her friends in the book were terrible too. One of them was the daughter of a very rich man and at one point was held for ransom for about 3 days. Outside of that fact, she was kind of a fuck up and her excuse for not being good at anything was “But I was kidnapped!”. Her other friend was a man hating shrew and the other completely rearranged her entire life to become a musician to impress some guy. The author made sure to point out how ugly her friends were and how hard their lives were but if only the world could see their inner beauty like the main character could!

I’m so sure that this was supposed to be a very deep and inspiring novel about how the way you look affects your worldview but I couldn’t keep a straight face while reading. No bueno.

Leave a Reply

